Read Novels 1976-1985 by Kurt Vonnegut Free Online

Ebook Novels 1976-1985 by Kurt Vonnegut read! Book Title: Novels 1976-1985
The author of the book: Kurt Vonnegut
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 1743 times
Reader ratings: 6.5
Edition: Library of America
Date of issue: May 1st 2014
ISBN: 1598533045
ISBN 13: 9781598533040
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 467 KB

Read full description of the books:

With the success of Slaughterhouse-Five (1969), Kurt Vonnegut cemented his reputation as America’s funniest and most original satirist. This third volume of the definitive edition of his fiction collects four novels written in the 1970s and ’80s, when Vonnegut was at the height of his storytelling powers. Slapstick (1976) takes the form of the post-apocalyptic memoirs of Wilbur Daffodil-11 Swain, architect of a brilliant scheme to rid mankind of loneliness. Jailbird (1979) is a political fable of our time, the biography of a good man who becomes embroiled in several of the worst political scandals of the American Century. Deadeye Dick (1982) depicts a talentless playwright’s struggle to atone for the crimes of his youth, and the sins of his country. Galápagos (1985), a favorite of the author’s among his books, tells the story of how and why a million years ago—during the global ecological disaster of 1986—humankind embarked on an unlikely evolution. The volume is rounded out with an assortment of Vonnegut rarities: speeches, essays, and commentary from the period that touch upon the themes, incidents, and particulars of the novels.

Download Novels 1976-1985 PDF Novels 1976-1985 PDF
Download Novels 1976-1985 ERUB Novels 1976-1985 PDF
Download Novels 1976-1985 DOC Novels 1976-1985 PDF
Download Novels 1976-1985 TXT Novels 1976-1985 PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Novels 1976-1985 read Online! Kurt Vonnegut, Junior was an American novelist, satirist, and most recently, graphic artist. He was recognized as New York State Author for 2001-2003.

He was born in Indianapolis, later the setting for many of his novels. He attended Cornell University from 1941 to 1943, where he wrote a column for the student newspaper, the Cornell Daily Sun. Vonnegut trained as a chemist and worked as a journalist before joining the U.S. Army and serving in World War II.

After the war, he attended University of Chicago as a graduate student in anthropology and also worked as a police reporter at the City News Bureau of Chicago. He left Chicago to work in Schenectady, New York in public relations for General Electric. He attributed his unadorned writing style to his reporting work.

His experiences as an advance scout in the Battle of the Bulge, and in particular his witnessing of the bombing of Dresden, Germany whilst a prisoner of war, would inform much of his work. This event would also form the core of his most famous work, Slaughterhouse-Five, the book which would make him a millionaire. This acerbic 200-page book is what most people mean when they describe a work as "Vonnegutian" in scope.

Vonnegut was a self-proclaimed humanist and socialist (influenced by the style of Indiana's own Eugene V. Debs) and a lifelong supporter of the American Civil Liberties Union.

The novelist is known for works blending satire, black comedy and science fiction, such as Slaughterhouse-Five (1969), Cat's Cradle (1963), and Breakfast of Champions (1973)

Reviews of the Novels 1976-1985


There are significant drawbacks


I never liked the book.


Phone number you need to drive to protect against robots.


There are clear drawbacks


I really hated the book.

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Novels 1976-1985 by Kurt Vonnegut Online free

PDF: novels-1976-1985.pdf Novels 1976-1985 PDF
ERUB: novels-1976-1985.epub Novels 1976-1985 ERUB
DOC: novels-1976-1985.doc Novels 1976-1985 DOC
TXT: novels-1976-1985.txt Novels 1976-1985 TXT